Linda Binder

Violinist and mandolinist

Home

Linda Binder, violinist and mandolinist, freelances and performs regularly with several ensembles in the Milwaukee / Chicago area.

Linda plays mandolin and mandola with The Lake Mandolin Quartet, She has been a member of several Chicago based Brazilian music groups, and performs actively on bandolim, a Brazilian style mandolin, with Milwaukee based choro ensemble Toco Rio. She plays electric violin with the improvisational Once Now Ensemble , trio Code Name: Magenta, and performs, and records freely improvised music on the viola d’amore, and waterphone in the duo PaVda with musician, artist, and instrument maker Hal Rammel. She also plays violin and mandolin with singer songwriter Steve Smith as Smith & Binder, performing jazz standards, as well as originals by Steve Smith, and plays with the string jazz band Hot Damn!. As a mandolinist, Linda has premiered contemporary music, with the Milwaukee based ensemble Present Music, and she performs classical music with chamber groups, and orchestras, including Milwaukee’s Festival City Symphony.


Upcoming Performances

Duo Violão Brasil with Toco Rio: 7pm Thursday, Sept. 22, 2016
Jazz Gallery 926 E Center St Milwaukee, WI 53212

Smith & Binder: Friday Sept. 23 6:30-9pm
Waukesha Friday Night Live, Waukesha Civic Theater Stage

Toco Rio: Saturday, Sept. 24, 2016
Private Event, Villa Terrace, Milwaukee WI

Smith & Binder: Saturday, October 1, 7-10pm
Three Cellars N72 W13400 Lund Lane, Suite A,
Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

Point Trio: Tuesday,October 4 5:30-6:30pm Harvest Celebration
Journey House Community Garden
2125 W Scott St, Milwaukee

Smith & Binder: Wednesday October 5, 2016 6-8pm Jazz at Easy Tyger
Easy Tyger, 1230 E Brady St, Milwaukee, WI 53202

Smith & Binder: Friday, Oct. 7, 2016, 7pm-10pm
Vino Etcetra, 120 E Wisconsin Ave. Oconomowoc, WI 53066
http://www.oconomowocwinebar.com/calendar/

Smith & Binder: Saturday, Oct. 8, 20116 7-10pm
Roots Coffeebar & Cafe, 363 W Main St, Waukesha, WI 53186
rootscoffeebar.com

Lake Mandolin Quartet: Sat. October 15, 2016 11:30am-4pm
Glorioso’s Italian Market,Brady Street, Milwaukee

Pavda + Amanda Schoofs: Thursday October 20th, 2016
The Formations Series at Woodland Pattern Book Center
20 East Locust St Milwaukee, WI 53212
7:00pm, $8 GENERAL / $7 STUDENTS & SENIORS / $6 WPBC MEMBERS

Smith & Binder: Friday, October 21, 2016 7-10pm
Vino Etcetra 120 E Wisconsin Ave. Oconomowoc, WI 53066

Festival City Symphony children’s concert: Wed.,October 26, 2016 7-8pm
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Bradley Pavilion

Smith & Binder, Thursday Oct. 27, 2016 7-9pm Taco Thursday in the Astor Lounge
Astor Hotel, 924 East Juneau Avenue * Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Smith & Binder: October 28, 2016 “A Masked Affair” Wine Pairing and Auction Benefit for Block Build MKE
The Wisconsin Club, 900 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Event Registration: https://app.mobilecause.com/f/y6p/n

Smith & Binder: Wednesday November 2, 2016 6-8pm Jazz at Easy Tyger
Easy Tyger, 1230 E Brady St, Milwaukee, WI 53202

Smith & Binder: Saturday November 12, Bremen Cafe
901 E Clarke St, Milwaukee, WI 53212

Smith & Binder, Thursday, Nov. 17, Taco Thursday in the Astor Lounge
Astor Hotel, 924 East Juneau Avenue * Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Smith & Binder, Saturday Nov. 26, 7-10pm
Three Cellars Franklin, 7133 S 76th St, Franklin, WI 53132

Festival City Symphony children’s concert: Wed.,November 30, 2016 7-8pm
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Bradley Pavilion

Smith & Binder, Saturday, Dec. 3, 7-10pm
Roots Coffebar and Cafe, 363 W Main St Waukesha, WI

Smith & Binder, Wednesday Dec. 7, 2016, 6-8pm
Easy Tyger,1230 E Brady St, Milwaukee, WI 53202

Smith & Binder, Thursday Dec. 8, 2016 Taco Thursday in the Astor Lounge
Astor Hotel, 924 East Juneau Avenue * Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

Code Name:Magenta; Friday Dec. 9, 2016

Smith & Binder Saturday Dec. 10, 2016 7-10pm
Three Cellars

Smith & Binder Saturday Dec. 17, 2016 7-10pm
Three Cellars N72 W13400 Lund Lane, Suite A,
Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

Smith & Binder: Wednesday January 4, 2016 6-8pm
Easy Tyger, 1230 E Brady St, Milwaukee, WI 53202

Festival City Symphony: Sunday, Jan. 29, 2017, 3pm
Pabst Theater 144 E Wells St. Milwaukee WI 53202

Festival City Symphony: Sunday, March 26, 2017, 3pm
Pabst Theater 144 E Wells St. Milwaukee WI 53202

Festival City Symphony: Sunday, May 7, 2017, 3pm
Pabst Theater 144 E Wells St. Milwaukee WI 53202

Festival City Symphony children’s concert: Wed. May 17, 2017 7-9pm
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Bradley Pavilion